The World Anti-Doping Code

The World Anti-Doping Code guarantees athletes equality all over the world by harmonising countries' national antidoping codes. It also provides the preconditions for fair and effective antidoping work everywhere.

Over 180 countries have committed to complying with the World Anti-Doping Code via the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) International Convention against Doping in Sport.  Governments have also promised to arrange the preconditions for antidoping work in their countries in accordance with the UNESCO and Council of Europe Conventions.

The World Anti-Doping Agency WADA's Supervisory Board accepted the new World Anti-Doping Code on 15 November 2013.  The new World Anti-Doping Code entered into force on 1 January 2015.

WADA's International Standards

There are international standards associated with the World Anti-Doping Code, and adherence to them is mandatory in antidoping work. These standards include:

  • International list of prohibited substances and methods
  • International Standard for Testing and Investigations
  • International Standard for Therapeutic Use Exemptions
  • International Standard for Laboratories
  • independent doping control investigation programme, and
  • International Standard for the Protection of Privacy and Personal Information.